Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Haven’t Read, But Want To

For That Artsy Reader Girl’s Top Ten Tuesday:

There are so many! And that’s not even counting all the authors I’ve read one book from, meant to read more, but haven’t gotten around to it yet!

T. Kingfisher- I’ve been really intrigued by some of her books but haven’t actually gotten to them yet. On my TBR: Paladin’s Grace, Nettle and Bone, The Seventh Bride, and A Wizard’s Guide To Defensive Baking (which is the best title ever!)

Ilona Andrews- Someone in my book club recommended her Innkeeper Chronicles as good comfort reads. It looks like she’s got a lot of other books, but I figure that’s a good place to start, since comfort is always needed!

Natalie Haynes- I’ve never been a fan of the Greek myths and classics but Madeline Miller has recently opened my mind to their potential. I know Natalie Haynes has written a lot based on them too, so I plan to check them out at some point. On my TBR: A Thousand Ships, and The Furies.

Stacey Halls-I’ve seen some of her books that look good the last few times I went to the library. I keep meaning to read them, but I’ve gone for other things (I can only carry so much!) On my TBR: Mrs. England, The Familiars

Grady Hendrix – For the past year, year and a half people in my book club have recommended Grady Hendrix as an author who is sometimes funny, sometimes scary, sometimes at the same time. On my TBR: The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires and The Final Girl’s Support Group.

Wendy Webb- Supposedly Webb is “Queen of the Northern Gothic” (according to her publicity anyway) and I love Gothic from any direction. On my TBR: The Fate of Mercy Alban, The Haunting of Brynn Wilder, and The Vanishing.

Constance Sayers- This author’s work looks like a fusion of historical fiction and fantasy, which is right up my ally! On my TBR: A Witch in Time and The Ladies of the Secret Circus.

Sarah Blake- I didn’t even realize that this was an author on the list, until I look at my TBR and saw several of her books on there! On my TBR: The Guest Book and Grange House.

Jess Kidd- This is another one I didn’t realize I wanted to read several books from. I remember adding Things in Jars to my TBR because it was compared with several books I really enjoyed (The Essex Serpent, The Book of Speculation). I must have looked the author up, because Mr. Flood’s Last Resort and Himself were added shortly thereafter.

Advertisement

Top Ten Tuesday: Fall 2018 TBR

ttt-new

For ThatArtsyReaderGirl’s Top Ten Tuesday:

September 18: Books On My Fall 2018 TBR

51pyv4pffgl-_ac_us218_

1. Unsheltered by Barbara Kingslover (October 16) I loved Kingslover’s The Poisonwood Bible and Prodigal Summer. This new novel features dual timelines (a favorite device for me) and it sounds promising.

61im-9b5r3l-_ac_us218_

2. The Labyrinth of Spirits by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (September 18) I loved Zafon’s introduction to the Cemetary of Forgotten books in The Shadow of the Wind. The follow-ups (The Angel’s Game and The Prisoner of Heaven) weren’t as good but were still compelling. This is supposed to be the conclusion that ties together the themes of the series. I hope that it lives up to the first book, but I may need to reread them all to refresh my memory!

91mr5h6-xil-_ac_us218_3. Lethal White by Robert Galbraith (September 18) The fourth novel in Galbraith’s (AKA JK Rowling) Comoran Strike series is really highly anticipated (by me at least!) because the last one left off on a sort of cliffhanger regarding the personal relationships of the two primary characters.

51e4ptxpx8l-_ac_us218_4. The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton (October 9) Kate Morton is a favorite of mine based on several of her past novels (The Forgotten Garden, The Distant HoursThe Secret Keeper). I’ve heard good things about this one, so I’m looking forward to it.

51i6ln7tmul-_ac_us218_5. The Library Book by Susan Orlean (October 16) I loved The Orchid Thief and I love libraries. This book delves into the 1986 fire at the Los Angeles Public Library (one of the most devastating library fires in American history) and in the process explore the idea of libraries and the crucial role that they play in society.

514bydpfbhl-_ac_us218_6. When We Caught Fire by Anne Godberson (October 2) Anne Godberson’s Luxe series was a major guilty pleasure for me. I also enjoyed her Bright Young Things trilogy. I’m looking forward to this standalone novel set around Chicago’s Great Fire of 1871.

5172ejdutll-_ac_us218_

7. The Winters by Lisa Gabriele (October 16) I was a bit skeptical about this retelling of Daphne DuMaurier’s Rebecca (one of my favorite novels) but revisiting a classic with a fresh eye can sometimes pay off. You could actually argue that DuMaurier did that same thing with Jane Eyre in Rebecca! So really I owe it to this book to give it a chance.

51ecxjihxpl-_ac_us218_8. Daughters of the Lake by Wendy Webb (November 1) I’ve never read anything by Webb before, but I’ve seen her work recommended for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley, and Simone St. James. In other words, me! Reviewers also call her “Queen of the Northern Gothic,” which also sounds promising.

51pku74twl-_ac_us218_9. The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox (October 2) This one seems like a perfect October read featuring the Salem Witch Trials, ghosts, and a Gothic setting.

513xypka1bl-_ac_us218_10. Once Upon A River by Diane Setterfield (December 4) I loved Diane Setterfield’s first novel, The Thirteenth Tale. I was less fond of her follow up Bellman and Black, but the early reviews for this one are positive so I’m hopeful!